RSS Feed

Pineapple fried rice

Posted on
Pineapple fried rice

I was doing my pasta post (please see previous post) when I saw the pictures intended for my pineapple fried rice blog which I totally forgot to share last week.

Last week was mostly work and being stuck at home because of the weather. And instead of opting to explore new places within the village, my friends and I opted to visit our village (newly opened) Shakey’s and Starbucks (both located along Matalino Street of our village.

Then last Sunday, we were stuck at home again and yes, again, I had nothing much in my pantry. So it meant another leftover recipe!

What did the little girl want? Pineapple fried rice.

I copied this version of fried rice from the street food in Taipei. It was a favorite of mine while I was studying at National Taiwan Normal University (Shi-Da). There was this one lady who would prepare this either with ground pork or ground chicken – depending on what you want. And the secret ingredient : pineapple tidbits.

When I was tired and hungry (and yes, short on cash), I would go to her stall and order my “piantang” (lunch box) of chicken pineapple fried rice. It always came in a cardboard “piantang”, a pair of chopsticks and a bottle of yakult.

Here is my version using leftovers :

  • Leftover rice
  • Leftover luncheon meat (Maling works best for me). Cubed.
  • Pineapple tidbits.
  • Butter
  • 1 medium sized egg, scrambled.
  • Garlic
  • Very minimal oil.
  • Salt and pepper to taste.
  • Around 2 TBSP soy sauce for taste and color.
How I do it :
  • Scramble the egg in advance and remove from heat.
  • Add a little oil into the pan. Add in butter. (don’t use too much oil as the Maling or luncheon meat gives out oil as it fries – adds yumminess to the fried rice too). I’m lazy and I don’t have a helper so I have to do everything. In order to minimize wash ups, I just move the items to the side of the wok as I cook the other ingredients.
(scrambled egg on the left side, maling on the ride side)
  • Fry the maling and remove (as per photo, I just moved it to the side of the wok. Same with the egg.)
  • Saute the garlic.
  • Add in the leftover rice.
  • Saute everything together – egg, garlic, maling. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  • Add in the pineapple tidbits and mix more.
  • Add in the soy sauce for color.
Tadah! Pineapple fried rice is served!
Leave a Reply

